Sport

Sport
Whilst I regret no longer being able to do much in the way of exercise except those simple ones for the knees and ankles and some recently added for Parkinsons, I have fond memories of Badminton and Tennis.
Prior to my retirement I had given up jogging due to arthritis in a big toe joint. So when I was asked after retirement “what do you do” I said ” gardening, DIY and other things”.I might also have explained that I had given up my Jog to the Dyke and back each morning due to arthritis in my big toe joint!  I was questioned why I didn’t play some sport and it was suggested I go to a sports center. I registered at The King Alfred where I and other over 50’s could swim and play badminton and bowls.
I regularly played badminton doubles with three others and we agreed that we play somewhere where we could play tennis as well. So the 4 of us tried a different venue each week until we settled at Southwick where we started a club. Numbers grew until we found a permanent base at Portslade school and numbers reached 30.

Author: Fred

Retired from BT

Leave a comment